I was lucky enough to be invited to create the sound world for this incredible new immersive dance/performance work by Antony Hamilton.

When you enter an environment populated by varied lifeforms, animated machines and a set that itself seems to pulse and breath, you know you’re not in traditional dance territory. This visionary creation throws every rule to the wind, and is the first work created by Antony Hamilton since taking up the helm of Chunky Move.

Token Armies is a symphony of action, image and sound, and a collective experience through which audiences will makes their own journey. Featuring a leviathan sculpture by Creature Technology Co. – the renowned creators of works such as King Kong and Walking with Dinosaurs– this immersive spectacle explores the way labour becomes ritual and opens up opportunities for a future humanity. Bio-mechanical forms alongside an ensemble of 23 performers query the boundary between the living and the inanimate.

Epic in scale, ambitious in conceit and utterly unforgettable in execution, this world premiere event is an evolutionary leap into an unknown tomorrow.

Presented by Chunky Move and Arts House in association with Creature Technology Co. Commissioned by Melbourne International Arts Festival.

More info

Token Armies

16 – 20 October
Meat Market
3 Blackwood Street
North Melbourne
6:00pm & 8.30pm 16-19 October
3:30pm & 6:00pm 20 October
I hour 30 minutes, no interval

Tickets $59 / $49 / $39


Concept, Direction & Choreography Antony Hamilton
Sculpture and Wearable Sculpture Design & Fabrication Creature Technology Co.
Assistant Choreographer & Rehearsal Director Melanie Lane
Costume Design Paula Levis
Lighting Design Bosco Shaw (ADDITIVE)
Sound Design Aviva Endean
Sound Consultant Madeline Flynn
Performers Jade Dickinson, Alice Dixon, Johsua Faleatua, Christina Guieb, Antony Hamilton, Samuel Hammet, Mitchell Harvey, Melanie Lane, Cody Lavery, Phillip Leitch, Gregory Lorenzutti, Kathleen Lott, Tiana Lung, Talitha Maslin, Amber McCartney, Damian Meredith, Callum Mooney, Josh Mu, Jessie Oshodi, Jack Riley, Harrison Ritchie-Jones, Kyall Shanks and Michaela Tancheff.